In Response to “Call Poison Control if You’re Bit by a Spider”

The Office is also my favorite television show. When I read your post I immediately thought of a scene in Season 4 (in my favorite episode I might add) where Jim and Pam are confronted by the film crew about the fact that they were seen and filmed kissing in a car.

I think this scene is the beginning of Jim and Pam’s lack of self-regulation regarding their relationship. While at first they try to deny the fact that they are dating (and even the fact that there is video evidence of them kissing), Pam eventually comes out and says “we’re dating.” I think this is a great example of how individuals can become immune to constant surveillance.

I thought that this related to Foucault’s idea of the central tower, as well. I think it is interesting that the film crew cornered Jim and Pam into a room to show them the footage and question their relationship. In this way, does the film crew represent the supervisory gaze-watching for when individuals step outside of their segmented divisions? Why do members of the film crew feel the need to question Jim and Pam?

I think it might be worth exploring how the central tower and/or the “gazers” at the top of the hierarchy of power are influenced when the individuals they are watching no longer care about surveillance. When their “prisoners” are no longer worried about the visible yet verifiable gaze, what happens to the authority of the central tower?

Leave a comment