Experimenting with Saussure and Butler

So for my final paper I thought it was suitable to employ two of the theories that, at first glance seemed to talk about very different things, appeared to complement each other towards my analysis (to me anyway). I suppose that it would be useful to use this blog as somewhat of an experimental space to try work through how I can combine these into a “super-theory.” Here goes.

It seems like eons ago that we talked about Saussure and his definition of the sign as composed of a signifier and its corresponding signified that link together to create meaning. Any disconnect between these two components in communication between people results in utter confusion, or at least misunderstanding. An example that comes readily to mind of a bar between signified and signifier that caused me a bit of confusion occurred a few weeks ago when I was trying to install my cable box. I was having problems doing the “auto-connect” thing, so I decided to call in to Comcast for assistance. After what seemed like an hour waiting on the phone, I was connected with a nice lady who had a pretty thick accent. I was told to read of some sort of code on my cable box (which was covered with various numbers and letters) and all attempts to set up my box were unsuccessful. I gave up because I had to go to class. Sorry for rambling, but bear with me. After repeating this process several times with the same result I finally realized I was reading the wrong code. When the person receiving my call said to read out the WXR3000 code or whatever, I didn’t know what that was, because it was unlabeled. My inability to link the correct code (signified) with her signifier resulted in consequences for me, namely debilitating frustration.

This got me thinking to something Judith Butler said in her article on gender theory: “those who fail to do their gender right are regularly punished.” This seems to fit into my lengthy example with Comcast. If you don’t perform the actions (signifiers, I believe) that that maintain your gender (what is signified), you are punished with alienation. Butler also says, in accordance with Saussure, that the relationship between our gender and how we perform it is completely arbitrary. We don’t act in accordance with our gender because it is biologically intrinsic to our being, we do it because we are trained since birth that our actions, behaviors, mode of dress, etc. are ways to demonstrate/ signify our gender.

4 thoughts on “Experimenting with Saussure and Butler

  1. emrandle says:

    First – love your Comcast example and totally feel your pain! But I think this is an amazing example of how the signifier and the signified have to continually work together to make sense. Although we spent much of our class time figuring out which theorists thought one was more important than the other, it doesn’t really seem to matter in the end. At least, not in a real-life example such as the one you gave.

    I’m a little confused on your connection to Butler, but I would love to read your final paper to see it all come together. Regardless, the information you present is great. It is so hard to believe or argue that a child is born with gender norms in their genetics because everything they see or interact with from birth has an expectation to a certain gender.

    Like

  2. hvflores says:

    I really liked this post. I am doing my final paper on Butler as well. I am re-writing my exercise 5 in order to make it fit with Butler’s idea of gender roles. In my previous exercise 5, I talked about the character of Michaela in Transformers and how in a scene ( I’m sure there is more ) where she is fixing a truck, she is seen through the male gaze. She is oiled up, arching her back, etc. Everything that would make her sexually attractive to the audience. However, I was thinking about Butler and how if, for instance, Michaela’s character were to act in a more masculine way or if they were to have a different actress besides Megan Fox play her, how would that change how you saw her? Is Michaela smarter than she lets on? Does she know how to “walk the walk” in order to make Sam, Shia LaBeouf’s character, find her sexually attractive.

    I really loved your Comcast connection as well as your idea about gender as the signified and one’s actions as the signifiers. Really interesting post! 😀 Good luck on your paper!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Paolita says:

    Hey I really liked your post and I wanted to ask if it’s possible to read your final paper?

    Like

    • lminich says:

      Yeah, except my laptop was stolen a couple months back and I (foolishly) don’t have a backup of the final draft. I found a draft that looks to be completed minus proofreading and editing. I can email it to you if you would like.

      Like

Leave a comment