Bourdieu

Overall, I feel like Bordieu’s Distinction was a bit confusing and hard to get through. Every time I allowed myself to become distracted while reading, I found it difficult to determine where I left off because of that. Despite the confusion, I was able to grasp his meanings. I found the idea of taste with the differentiation between social classes to be fairly spot on. Thinking in terms of myself and how certain aspects of my life such as literature, as an adult, and even when I was a young adult, I feel that there is a stigma against young adult literature that makes me feel embarrassed to say that I prefer to read those novels. I often anticipate judgment for sharing when asked about my favorite books. It seems to be below my social status in a way, and it is only because society has made it as such, which has a negative effect on the way I see myself at times.

I thought it was weird that, in the advantageous attributions section when he brings up language and linguists, that he didn’t go into the whole prescriptivists vs. descriptivists thing. I kind of feel like that would’ve fit in well with the social class discussion, considering that, in my opinion anyway, prescriptivists often try to correct people because they have a superiority complex. I feel like it would fit in well with the polar opposite classifications bit, too. Though, I guess the “correct” language vs. any “incorrect” language aren’t necessarily polar opposites.

One thought on “Bourdieu

  1. pingham2014 says:

    What a great example from Linguistics! Yes, prescriptivists would indeed say that there are “correct” (i.e. good) uses of language and “incorrect” (i.e. bad) uses. I think the descriptivist position would actually be closer to Bourdieu–in that, if I’m not mistaken, descriptivists see language usage as related to a host of other features–class and social position among them.

    Like

Leave a comment